Latest Release Highlights (November 2020)

Wednesday, November 11th, 2020

We’re always striving to put out great new music, and this year, unique though it may be in so many ways, has been no exception. We will certainly miss seeing you in person at the PASIC, Midwest, and TMEA conventions.

In lieu of our various annual “hangs,” we thought we’d share some highlight reels of our latest and greatest from 2020. While it’s been a nutty year, we’re so proud of this work and hope you will enjoy it!

We believe music is a powerful and connecting force, which seems more important than ever right now. Thanks for taking a few moments out of your day to see what our artists have been up to!

Visit our New Releases page to learn more about these pieces.

Virtual Drumline Tip: Integrating VDL with Dorico Notation Software

Wednesday, November 4th, 2020

By Matt Ridge

One of the most popular uses of Tapspace’s flagship software instrument, Virtual Drumline (VDL), is integration with notation software. This produces lifelike, real-time percussion playback for composers/arrangers directly within the compositional workflow. Setup has been made easy in Finale and Sibelius for years thanks to third party plug-and-play mapping templates, such as those produced by The Write Score.

The nerds among us have recently been excited by a newcomer in the music notation market: Dorico. This program, built from the ground up by former Sibelius employees, brings a host of revolutionary features to the table, including: automatic condensing of conductor scores, incredible flexibility in note/dynamic input, cues updated to the source material in real time, handsome engraving defaults, and much more. As a constantly-maturing program, it’s sure to attract percussion composers and marching arrangers in greater numbers over the coming years.

Continue reading

Updated List of Texas UIL Titles (2021 update)

Sunday, September 27th, 2020

The University Interscholastic League (UIL) recently released their updated prescribed music list (PML) for percussion solo & ensemble music. Over 100 Tapspace pieces were added in the recent round of revisions. In other words, over 20% of all new percussion titles added to the Texas state list bear the Tapspace name!

The state of Texas is a worldwide standard setter in music education, so their vote of confidence in our catalog makes us proud. In fact, a majority of all titles in the Tapspace catalog are sanctioned by the Texas UIL. Download a complete listing of all Tapspace titles on the UIL list, organized by event, grade, and UIL code.

Continue reading

New COVID-19 Filter

Friday, June 26th, 2020

Greetings from our little corner of the world! 

As cliché as it is to say, “We hope you’re doing well in these unprecedented/uncertain/crazy times in which we live,” we really honestly do. We here at Tapspace HQ have fared well, all things considered, and are grateful for the opportunity to continue working and doing what we do best – releasing great music for all of you in percussion education.

We are thinking of all of you in the teaching community, about your concerns and struggles amidst the pandemic. You are to be applauded for the myriad ways in which you continue to rise to the challenge of keeping students engaged in music and percussion.

Likewise, for students. Has it ever been harder to be a student than it is right now? Your dedication to continue to strive for yourselves and become better players and future teachers is to be commended.  

In that spirit, we wanted to inform you that we have created a special COVID-19 filter on our website that we hope will serve you as you think about your upcoming challenges in the fall.

We have combed through our entire catalog and highlighted the pieces that satisfy the following COVID-era requirements:

Continue reading

Online versions of Five/Nine Minute Drill (social distancing versions)

Monday, April 6th, 2020


While much of the world was sheltering in place during the 2020-21 COVID-19 pandemic, we offered free access to the popular daily drill methods Five Minute Drill and Nine Minute Drill available online to users who either already owned or had just purchased the book(s). This was a temporary fix in order to aid those teachers and students needing to work in remote learning environments.

With the return to widespread in-person learning, this temporary online version will become unavailable on June 18, 2021. Please revert to using physical versions of the book instead.

Stay safe, and keep practicing!

COVID-19 Updates

Wednesday, March 18th, 2020

During these uncertain times, we are taking measures to scale back our operation and take precautions toward the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. Following state-mandated social distance guidelines, we are still fulfilling shipments from our office in Portland, Oregon. We will continue to operate in this manner as long as the US Postal Service and UPS remain functional and so long as it is safe for our staff to continue to do so.

Contacting Us:
We will continue to provide the service you’ve come to expect from us, albeit more remotely. Please contact us online rather than via our office phone. Thank you for your patience and cooperation.

International Shipments:
For the time-being, we will not be making international, non-US shipments from The majority of our catalog is available in downloadable PDF format, so we recommend purchasing your music that way if possible. We also encourage you to check with one of our dealers who may be able to more quickly provide your shipment.

Using the Tap-Off in the Classroom: a three-tiered achievement system

Sunday, March 1st, 2020

by Ralph Hicks

Editor’s note: This article originally appeared in an email newsletter. We are reposting it here, as several folks have asked about it.

Using the different surfaces available with the combination of Tap-Off and Rat-Pad drumming practice tools, I’ve incorporated a three-tiered achievement system to reduce the anxieties beginners have while learning in the classroom. The available sound and feel combinations allow for an environment well suited for all types of learners to feel comfortable engaging. The practice pad exercises from Five Minute Drill and Nine Minute Drill are a great way to get started with these ideas.

  • Level 1:  Tap-Off + Rat-Pad overlay (quietest, least amount of rebound)
  • Level 2:  Orange gum rubber (medium volume, most rebound)
  • Level 3:  Darkmatter oval (loudest attack, slightly less rebound)
Continue reading

Current Texas UIL Prescribed Music Titles

Saturday, February 8th, 2020

We’re headed to the San Antonio for the Texas Music Educator’s Association (TMEA) convention next week! It’s one of our favorite places to witness the power of music education, eat some great Tex-Mex, and visit with some great people in the Lone Star state.

Through the University Interscholastic League (UIL), Texas has an influential list of prescribed music titles for solo and ensemble events. We’re honored to have a large portion of our catalog sanctioned on this list! Download a complete listing of all Tapspace titles on the UIL list, organized by event, grade, and UIL code.